Saved Resources (0) Hide

  • Saved resources will appear here

Our Story


Women Moving Millions began as a campaign in 2007 and quickly transformed into a community with a shared vision of creating a gender equal world.

Visionaries Helen LaKelly Hunt, Ambassador Swanee Hunt, and Chris Grumm (then CEO of the Women’s Funding Network) launched this groundbreaking funding campaign with the goal of building a global collective of committed, purposeful women making bold philanthropic gifts of $1 million or more for the advancement of women and girls. History was made when $181 million was pledged to 41 women’s funds.

Knowing the need to mobilize greater resources for women and girls did not end with the campaign, a passionate and purposeful group of members stepped into leadership and created the plan to move from campaign to community. Those same members committed their financial resources, and along with a $1.5 million grant from J.P. Morgan Chase, Women Moving Millions, Inc. was born. Jacki Zehner became the fourth co-founder to lead this next phase, with Jessica Houssian becoming the organization’s first Executive Director. 

Today, WMM is the largest community of individuals giving a minimum of $1 million to resource women and girls and has elevated the power of women’s philanthropy. As a growing global community, our members have collectively committed over $1 billion and are using the power of their voice, networks, and influence to inspire others to invest with a gender lens.

We are grateful for our visionary founders, members, and partners who understood the power and transformative potential of this community to change the world. These amazing leaders, listed below, stepped up early to help create the largest group of individual donors making million-dollar gifts for women and girls.

  • Helen LaKelly Hunt
    (Co-Founder, WMM)*
  • Swanee Hunt
  • Jacki Zehner
    (Co-Founder, WMM)*
  • Chris Grumm
    (Co-Founder, WMM Campaign)
  • Kimberly Agnew
  • Wendy Anderson
  • Carol Andreae
  • Wendy Appelbaum
  • Loreen Arbus*
  • Cynda Collins Arsenault
  • Jean Beard
  • Cecilia Boone
  • Barbara Bridges
  • Jennifer Buffett
  • Marcia Cardamore
  • Maria Chrin
  • Mayree Clark
  • Jane Comer
  • Julie F. Cummings
  • Anne Delaney
  • Abigail Disney
  • Barbara Dobkin
  • Kaleta Doolin
  • Peggy Dulany
  • Gayle Embrey
  • Lauren Embrey*
  • Laurie Emrich
  • Jodie Evans
  • Vanessa Evans
  • Holly Fogle
  • Margot Franssen*
  • Tracy Gary
  • Julie George
  • Shamaya Gilo
  • Lynda Goldstein
  • Sapphira Goradia
  • Jim Greenbaum
  • Katie Grover
  • Ruth Ann Harnisch
  • Sheila Johnson
  • Francine LeFrak
  • Deborah Lindholm
  • Sarah Losinger
  • Ann Lovell*
  • Josh Mailman
  • Debbie McLeod*
  • Anne Mendel
  • Alida Messinger
  • Kayrita Mitchell
  • Susan Morrison*
  • Maria Núñez
  • Ann Olivarius
  • Elizabeth Carlock Phillips
  • Gael Sylvia Pullen
  • Jane Ragle
  • Cathy Raphael
  • Diana Rose
  • Jana Shea
  • Lindsay Shea
  • Elizabeth Sheehan
  • S. Mona Sinha
  • Mary Tidlund*
  • Judi Wagner
  • Sage Wheeler
  • Monica Winsor
  • Trea Yip

*Members of our Inaugural Board of Directors

Together we can do more.

Use the power of your voice and influence to accelerate progress toward a gender
equal world.

Join the Community